SUGAR COOKIES!!! (VeganMoFo Day 3)

My god, do I ever love sugar cookies. Honestly, I would rather have a soft and chewy and PLAIN sugar cookie anyday. I’m not plain by any means, but sometimes you just crave the simple things.

Whenever I make cutouts, I tend to make the dough the night before and bring it to work with me so the kids can enjoy the decorating part of it. I mean, it simply isn’t as fun doing it at home as it is at my work, with children throwing flower and eating sprinkles and sneaking tastes!

Today’s recipe for sugar cookies comes from Vegan Food Gifts by Joni Marie Newman (for which I was a tester!). I never did try the sugar cookies when they were up for testing so I figured now would be a good time!

Usually, I tend to stick to Kelly Peloza’s recipe just because. Then again, I don’t think I have ever tried another recipe….so maybe I’m biased?

So I made the dough yesterday before work, knowing full well I was going to be putting in a ten hour day, most of which to be spent with Spencer. The kid LOVES to play cooker/baker. He’s so curious and always attached to my hip, wanting to do everything I’m doing and eating everything I’m eating.

So of course, when I got to work this morning and I told him I had a surprise for him, he was all into it and demanded we get to work right away!

 

This picture he asked me to show you all. It’s his worm that he made and he is damn proud of it! He looked at the cookie making as more of an experiment with play-dough. HA, see what I did there? Play-DOUGH? HA!

 

He demanded I let him do EVERYTHING. For the record, when I say demand I mean he simply looked at me and said “Megan, I love you. Can I do the rolling? Can I do press and lift?”

HEART MELT!

Yes little man, you may do whatever the hell you want! ANYTHING!

Oh, and every few seconds when my back was turned to him, I would turn around and find him eating the dough. He probably ate three cookies worth in just dough!

 

 

Contemplating eating more? Or just thinking about smacking bitches with the rolling pin.

 

SPRINKLES!! Zombie ones even. I love Halloween.

 

This face has no words. I’m honestly not sure if maybe his mouth is full or he was right about to say something.

Pumpkin shaped Sugar Cookies! These things are amazing. Just the right amount of crisp and chewy. My own sadness was the oily-ness it left on my fingers.

MEGAN LOATHE OILS.

That small con was worth it though. They were amazingggg.

Yup, I gushed about my man AND got to post things with sprinkles. TODAY IS A WIN!

3 thoughts on “SUGAR COOKIES!!! (VeganMoFo Day 3)

  1. “Contemplating eating more? Or just thinking about smacking bitches with the rolling pin.”
    I’m literally laughing as I type this. Goodness, I need to make cookies soon.

  2. Can you tell us how Jonie’s recipe is different from the others out there? Joanna Vaught posted a really good sugar cookie recipe yesterday. They all seem to have similar ingredients!
    P.S. I’d rather have a frosted sugar cookie than a chocolate chip one any day.

Leave a comment