The Blissful Chef, Entry 1

I have been given the wonderful opportunity to test some cookbook recipes for Christy (aka The Blissful Chef) and I couldn’t be more thrilled! I had seen her work in the past and we had exchanged messages about The Natural Epicurean (the vegan/macro culinary she attended and I was accepted to) and I always thought to myself “Gosh darn it, I wanna be her friend/cook her food!” Well now I have the pleasure of enjoying her food!

Thus far, I have only done the one recipe, but I can assure you, there are more to come!

Let me say first off, I need a new camera. Desperately. My current photo taking device is subpar.

Okay, so this is the Pumpkin Cheesecake that will be in Christy’s forthcoming cookbook, and let me tell you, it was STELLAR! I made it for my mother’s birthday and thought it would be a perfect way to ring in her 52nd year. My best friend, Nicole, also tagged along for dinner and desert. We were all AMAZING. Having been vegan for quite awhile now, I had never EVER had vegan cheesecake. dairy laden cheesecake was always far too sweet and gave me a tooth ache half the time. Due to that, I gotta be honest, I was always scared and skeptical of trying the vegan version. Well, this was truly a treat.

Not too sweet, the crust was just perfect, and the taste of pumpkin wasn’t overpowering!

Christy, I rate it a 4 1/2 out of 5!

Now, the one and only downfall of it was….the pumpkin layer was SUPPOSED to stay separate from the actual cheesecake part. Yeah, that didn’t happen. The amount of pumpkin was sparse to begin with and trying to spread it onto the top of cheesecake fresh out of a 35 minute bake cycle was NOT going to happen. I even used my handy dandy bent cake spatula. Yeah, no go. Mind you, I have a handful of years of cake decorating under my belt, so I know how to handle a spatula. Yup, fail. I would suggest perhaps a full can of pumpkin? Or maybe half a can and half a box of silken? All it needed was more bulk., something more to spread out!

I must say, I would definitely make this again. It was wonderful and also opened my eyes up to the many different cheesecake flavors the world has to offer!!!

Also, this was just the first recipe. There are many more to come in the next week or two. Promise!

2 thoughts on “The Blissful Chef, Entry 1

  1. tim says:

    Your food looks like shit.

Leave a Reply

