The Duck is Mocking Me!

My first vegan care package swap! Eeeeeeeee! I was so thrilled when I found out Lindsay was doing this. It’s an absolutely brilliant idea, since i adore vegan foods from other areas! When people travel out of state with me, I am usually all about hitting the local grocery store. I dragged my mother to three different ones in VA, and VT, PA, and NYC. Not to mention when I went to Florida a few years ago, I bugged my family to find me a Whole Foods (which never happened). Anyway, I was lucky enough to be set up with Lindsay’s first swap partner, Bianca!

As soon as I photographed everything, the first thing into my mouth was the Justin’s Nutella-esque stuff on the animal crackers! DIVINE! The fella stole the Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter from me and put it on a apple. I let that one slide. The gravy I can use for a holiday, while the soap smells delicious! The granola will be part of my provisions on the bus to NYC.

Tazo tea (this woman knows me well!), ramen n00dz, and the things I am most scared of…

BACON SALT

and

MOCK DUCK?!

I’m terrified of the duck. Not going to lie. I must admit it is intriguing, but it’s in a CAN! That scares me a bit. When I return from my trip I will surely find something to do with it. I think the fact on the label it looks like goose flesh is what scares me the most.

*gulp*

9 thoughts on “The Duck is Mocking Me!

  1. Anna says:

    We have mock duck in England, it’s nicely flavoured seitan and me and the kids love it! It’s usually too expensive to use much of it so I make my own, but for a treat it’s nice to open up some ready made seitan for a change! It’s great in a stir fry of any kind and I’ve also thrown it in a pasta bake before.

  2. Ha! Didn’t mean to scare you! I spend a lot of time in the Asian market (since it’s next to my house) looking at all the canned seitan…they have a canned seitan version of every meat you can imagine. But the duck is one of my faves. It’s not too meaty in texture, so not too scary. Though I would recommend draining it and rinsing to get some of the salty liquid off that it’s stored in. Then I toss with veggies in a saute pan with a little soy sauce and sriracha. I usually eat stirfrys over my Ramen because I’m a Ramen addict. 🙂

    The bacon salt is weird, yes. But tasty in the way that, well, bacon is tasty. I first read about it on the PPK and had to try it. The same brand J&D’s now also makes a malt salt that tastes just like malt vinegar…to put on your fries and pretend your from the U.K. I thought about sending some of that, but I didn’t know how you’d feel about vinegar. I love it, but I have a few friends who are total vinegar haters.

    • veganwhore says:

      After I received it, I ran to the asian market to find more meats. Sadly, I wouldn’t find any in my local market so I might have to ask. Did I mention I did this before I even tried the one you sent?! It’s exciting to know that sort of thing is avilible. Lucky you, living next to a market!

      Oh, I tried the salt on a gimmie lean sausage black olive pizza today. Not too shabby 🙂 The malt vinegar one sounds yummy!

      Uh, did I say thank you? Thank you thank you thank youuu!

  3. Melisser says:

    RAD SWAP! Yes, be scared of the mock duck!

  4. kala says:

    I looooove mock duck! The veg friendly restaurants around here all serve it, it’s great in curries, stir fry, and with bbq sauce! We use it whenever a recipe calls for seitan because I like the texture better than homemade seitan. Plus I’m lazy 😉

  5. shane says:

    Mock duck is the official faux meat of MN its awesome in stir fry, bbq’d on pizza, in sandwiches. I know we have a ton of posts and a few recipes on vegan caliente.

  6. Hello Veggie says:

    Hey, glad I found your blog! I like it. You’ll have to let us know how you like that mock duck =)

    Jenn– HeVe

Leave a Reply

