NYCC Walking Dead Panel (And How I Managed to JIZZ MY PANTS!)

The Walking Dead.

The first comic I grew to love in my adult life.

Before that, I had Archie and Star Wars as a small child. In my teens, JTHM and Squee. Adulthood has brought more mature things like zombies and apocalypse-related things.

That being said, The Walking Dead has a special place in my heart. One that I would kill for. Or at least maim for.

When I originally heard about AMC optioning this wonderful Robert Kirkman written piece of awesome, I was rather skeptical as are most. I mean, this comic is more then just a comic to most. Each character, each storyline…..it is so wonderfully written, you feel a genuine attachment to these characters! Finding out that Hollywood was digging their grubby little fingers into something so purely epic was a real gut wretcher.

That is, until I sat in on the panel for the show at New York Comic Con.

Back when the panel attended San Diego Comic Con, all they had to show fans was a measly 3 minute trailer. Excellent in it’s own right, it didn’t really give fans a sense of relief as far as our precious charcters being ruined on the big screen. Fast forward a few months to NYCC and they finally had SCENES to show! Holy moly, myself and the other 25,000 people that sat in on this panel were lucky!

When the first clip was being show, goosebumps were running rampant on my skin. I was so emotionally confused about how epic these scenes looked, i had to choke back tears of happiness! As someone that has said repeatedly that this series was going to blow, I no withdraw that claim. I have no doubts in my mind that this will do the comic justice in every way possible. The zombies looked better then imagined, the characters seem genuine, and the gore factor doesn’t seem to be impeded by cable tv! WIN!

I won’t reveal anymore because I want you all to be pleasently surprised by the show when it premiere’s on Halloween night at 10pm on AMC. I will however share pictures of the panel (just a few) and my wonderful meeting of Robert Kirkman! YAY!

 

 

More of my NYCC adventure to come tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

