Appetite for Reduction : A Cookbook Review

Isa is my culinary vegan goddess.

Yup, not going to lie. Not that it’s a secret, but yes, I have a food boner for her. (I mean that in a straight way)

I own all of her books, while most have been purchased the day they come out. This one however, was illusive and came out a whole month sooner then I expected. One day it was nowhere to be found at Border’s and the next BAM! Right in the face.

So of course, as soon as I found it, I made sure to buy it. Duh.

_   *   _   *   _   *   _   *   _   *   _

Let me start off by saying that I bought this book knowing full well it was a LOW-FAT (not NO-FAT) cookbook. I’m a fan of my fats (mostly in baking) but I had been dabbling in FF lately. Simply because oil grosses me out. I’m sure prior to this I have stated how much I LOATHE oil on my skin, so why would I even dream of putting it in my food? Slowly, that correlation between the two has been making more and more sense.

Also, I felt a bond between Isa and I. We both have the same medical problems, as she states in the book. And well, these recipes helped her so I figured they might help me as well.

Now, back to our regularly schedule awesomeness!

_   *   _   *   _   *   _   *   _   *   _

And as soon as it was purchased, I ran home and began the cooking tirade.

Yeah, this one get’s an overall rating of EPIC.

The first recipe out of the gate was Everyday Chickpea-Quinoa salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette.

I understand completely why Isa says she eats this everyday. It is truly worthy of everyday ingestion.

I obviously substituted things in the recipe(as she states you can of course) because first off, I was out of chickpeas (please don’t stone me to death). Second, no lettuce. Pinto’s and spinach were a fine substitute! Add some sprouts in there and it was a dish full of win.

Only downfall was the dressing. Like most people, I loathe my salad drowned in dressing but the amount in this wasn’t enough.  I ended up adding hot sauce (Red Hot to be precise) to each bowl I ate, adjusting accordingly. It added an extra zing that I was looking for.

 

Apparently, I never took a picture of the Ethiopian Millet on it’s own. Lower left, eat your heart out.

Spinach Lasagna with Roasted Cauliflower Ricotta and Spinach

I’m a texture gal, and ricotta was always up there on the list of THINGS YOU COULDN’T PAY ME T EAT. Even the simple mention of it in this recipe made me gag. Right off the bat, I had it in my head I wasn’t going to eat it and that I needed a backup plan, since this was something the fella had requested.

Yeah, no. It was great. The roasted cauliflower made everything okay. It enveloped my taste buds and made little cauliflower babies.

Isa’s recipe for Italian Tofu Marinade has been my go-to for sometime now (thanks to Alisha making me aware it was hiding in the Veganomicon) so of course I was stoked to try this one. Also, this was my first time BAKING tofu in a year or two. The last time I tried, it came out with the consistency of jerky and the time before that was simply horrendous. This time however has turned me into a full fledged tofu baker! Thrown on top of the Gravy Bowl :

and it was the lunch from heaven.

Yes smartasses, I’m aware this isn’t a bowl. Deal with it.

Included in the above are the Baked Tofu, some steamed kale, short-grain brown rice, and Silky Chickpea Gravy.

Of course another of my basic fallbacks is Vegan With a Vengence Punk Rock Chickpea Gravy. This trumps it. The end.

Last but not least, for dinner last night, I prepared the Classic Black Bean and Veggie Chili.

I’m relatively sure that the vegan lynching mob will come after me for the shitty pictures, but who cares! The chili was great! Filling and warming and just what was needed on a 20 degree day in Central NY. So full of veggies and flavor, it felt like it should be something that would make me gain 12 pounds just glancing at it.

Not pictured, but enjoyed to the point of me making it AGAIN as I type this, was the Pizza Hummus and Baked Falafel.

Yes, BAKED.

Yes, PIZZA.

Those two combination nearly made me shit a clown out of my ass in excitement.

 

Okay, so to wrap this up, buy the friggin book.

Now.

Truly one to add to the rotation of books used on a daily basis.

7 thoughts on “Appetite for Reduction : A Cookbook Review

  1. kala says:

    Ok, now I think I need this book, looking through it at the book store I wasn’t super impressed (ended up putting Color Me Vegan on my x-mas list instead) but your review is changing my mind!

  2. shane says:

    Oh no, mind changing! I do like a baked falafel! I do wanna make the onion rings, oh how I miss them.

  3. Nicole says:

    I’ve only made one thing so far from the book and it was AWESOME! Need to get it out when my Mum comes to visit and make that lasagna for her!

  4. kim says:

    “made me shit a clown out of my ass in excitement.” – lmao! Great line! Just bought the book, cant wait to try it all!

  5. Good morning Vegan W. {blush},
    I just subscribed to your mailing list.

    I read of your desire to be an even healthier vegan.
    Whole-food, plant-based weight loss is one of my specialties
    and I’d love to be of service.

    Have you read “The Engine 2 Diet” by Rip Esselstyn?
    He’s a world-class vegan athlete and firefighter and
    his dad was one of the Doctors featured in the film
    “Forks over Knives!”

    May you and yours be happy and healthy!

    Om Mani Padme Hum,
    Lama Jigme
    NON-sectarian Buddhist: Monk, Teacher, Healer and Tantrika

Leave a Reply

