Hand Pie, Empanadas, and Bleeding Hearts

I AM OBSESSED WITH MAKING A VEGAN HOT POCKET!

Don’t ask me why because I don’t have a good answer.

I remember the days when I would run off the bus, up the stairs to my moms apartment, go to the freezer and whip out a ham and cheese Hot Pocket to be nuked. I would start my homework and eat one of those bad boys in complete and total bliss. Oh, wait. That isn’t always how it happened….

Some days, I would skip school, wait for mom to go to work, and invite all of my friends over to smoke a ton of weed and eat Hot Pockets.

Either way, they played a vital part of my childhood.

I have yet to see these veganized so I am on a mission.

The Mission : Find the perfect crust. Find the perfect cheese substitute. Find the perfect crappy ham substitute.

Only then will my life be complete.

I picked up a William-Sonoma pie mold for two dollars and was determined to make it work!

Attempt number one was yummy, but had far too much butter in it. I opted for making a sweet pie first of all, which might have worked more for my favor.

I knew those peach preserves would come in handy!

The fella ended up eating most of the pies. Not that I can blame him because they were amazing.

I have yet to attempt them again, but plan to in the coming weeks. I’m determined to find a good flaky crust that will be able to handle the filling.

As for the cheese, I’m thinking Teese Cheddar Cheese Sauce will do the trick.

Oh hey, I made Bleeding Hearts Cookies!

Suitable for Valentines Day!

And going along with the theme of hand pies, I tackled Empanada’s!

I have had Terry Hope Romero’s book, Viva Vegan, since the day it came out. Despite how excited I was to make Latin food, I have never ever made anything from this book. To be honest, it scares the crap out of me. Most things I have no clue about and this cluelessness has led me to fear this book.

Today I decided to balls up and attack it!

Sweet and Spicy Potato Seitan Empanada’s.

Yup, they ruled.

The fella brought the leftovers to work. Now, the fella has never EVER brought food to work, let alone things that I’ve made. He’s bound to get some weird looks from his meat loving macho friends. Either way, he loved them enough to bring a tupperware container of them to work.

That made this gal feel good!

 

7 thoughts on “Hand Pie, Empanadas, and Bleeding Hearts

  1. Jared says:

    I am the same way with Vida Vegan! I’ve owned it for some time but have yet to tackle a recipe. You have inspired me! 🙂

  2. FoodFeud says:

    Have you ever seen the Jim Gaffigan bits about Hot Pockets? They’re on YouTube..pretty funny and also bring back memories…

  3. veganshane says:

    Yum!!!

    Bleeding hearts look a lot like a Jammy Dodgers hmmmm can they hold off a Dalek army?

  4. Melisser says:

    Damn, now I gotta come visit you.

  5. kala says:

    I want one of those cookies! And an empanada!

  6. Elisabeth says:

    The empanadas look great! I love the cookies. They remind me Lintzen cookies that I make for Christmas 🙂

  7. Elisabeth says:

    … correction they remind me of….

Leave a Reply

