Pop.

This past Wednesday, my Pop died after a very long battle with heart disease.

He knew he was dying and my sisters and I were called home to say our goodbyes and be by his side. Mere minutes after my cousin and I had left the hospital on Wednesday night, he passed.

My step-mother’s father, he was the most amazing human being I have ever had the privileged of knowing. His smile, baby blue eyes, and ability to make you smile with one simple sentence are some of the memories he leaves behind.

He was the first person in the Sheets family to make me feel truly welcome. As an outsider coming into the family at the age of 15, I was skeptical of everyone. I felt very alone at family gatherings and kept mostly to myself. Oh, but he made sure to find me. He would say something random and make fun of my piercings and I couldn’t help but become so full of happiness with his words that I would smile from ear to ear.

I have never taken a death as hard as I have his. I truly feel empty and lost and like the human race has lost a truly amazing individual.

As I write this, I am crying. I know everyone says that he’s in a better place. That where he is, there is no more pain or sickness. That doesn’t make it any less hard for me.

As time goes on, the pain will subside but a part of me will always be empty.

R.I.P. William Sheets

February 9th, 2011

(taken a few days before he passed)

3 thoughts on “Pop.

  1. FoodFeud says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss, Megan. He looks happy to the end. Prayers go with him.

  2. Laura Jill says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, Megan. I’m glad you had the time with him that you did.

    xoxo,
    LJ

  3. Gem says:

    I am so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

