Aebleskiver!!

Strange word, right?

I had only ever heard them referred to as pancake puffs but it seems that they have a REAL name along with a legit Wiki page:

Æbleskiver (Danish meaning apple slices (singular: æbleskive)) are traditional Danish pancakes in a distinctive shape of a sphere. Somewhat similar in texture to American pancakes crossed with a popover, æbleskiver are solid like a pancake but light and fluffy like a popover. The English language spelling is usually aebleskiver or ebleskiver.

Don’t mind my stove. That’s actually the cleanest it’s been in ages.

I used the basic pancake recipe from Vegan Brunch since it happens to be perfect in every possible way. Why fuck with something created by the gods?

And since they are stuffed, I busted out some of the new jam I bought while in INTERCOURSE PA. (Bring on the LAWLZ)

The Amish make one badass jam, that’s for sure. The fella and I were spooning it into our mouths and sneaking it behind each others back.

Kitchen Kettle Village was a highlight of my trip, but I will explain why in my post tomorrow.

Apparently, there is a trick to turning the puffs and I didn’t know. They sort of look like fortune cookies. Either way, I wanted to die in a pile of these things. Next time I’ll have to YouTube this. I’m determined to make a perfect batch!!!

2 thoughts on “Aebleskiver!!

  1. kala says:

    I don’t know what makes me the most jealous, the pancake puffs, the jam, or the fact that you went to Intercourse PA. All I’ve got is that my parents live close to Nimrod MN, but that’s just not as cool!

  2. FoodFeud says:

    Those look so cute! Awesome job getting them to pop up at all. They remind me of apple pannenkoeken (another funny Dutch word), which is the majority of what I ate when I visited Amsterdam. The jam sounds like that’s the way to go, really.

Leave a Reply

