Vegan MoFo : Day -1

Okay, so is it a sin that I’m cheating slightly?

TECHNICALLY, MoFo begins tomorrow but I am so overly psyched for it that I jumped the gun a tad. When is posting delicious food ever a bad thing anyway?!

So yesterday I obtained a rather gnarly indoor grill. I had been looking into buying one all summer and never got around to it. When I saw the deal Macy’s was offering on it, I couldn’t pass it up!

Originally $129.99, reduced to $89.99, PLUS another 40% off!

Total paid : $58 and change.

Fantastic score indeed.

OH, HAI GRILL!!

And look, it has a kebab/hot dog roller thinger on the bottom!

So let’s address the item in the tinfoil.

Cauliflower with Smoked Paprika.

I am on a major smoked paprika kick and I will find any reason I can to throw it on thing. Pizza? BAM! Potatoes? BAM! I’m a regular Emeril!

The heat of the grill definitely added to the smokey flavor, enhancing it greatly.

The kebabs I tried were simply patty pan squash and zucchini with some salt and pepper. Simple and divine!

And hell, why stop there! I was on a grilling spree!

Brussel sprouts on the grill! Why the heck not?!

A little herb de prevance and they were good to go! Sort of. I forgot salt.

And yeah, I’m sure I spelled that wrong. Do I care? Nope!

They spent about half an hour on the grill and came out perfect.

And of course, I couldn’t stop myself! All summer I heard talk of pizzas on the grill. This concept blew my mind to bits! Whaaaaat?! How is that even possible?!

 

Oh, it’s totally possible AND amazing! The crust was almost like a cracker. It had the proper proportion of Daiya, sauce, and pepperoni seitan that it made me smile with every bite. No lie!

I swear, that was all I grilled.

You might be asking yourself how one person could eat all of this food that I made in the span of about 2 hours. Well, it’s in my tiffin, awaiting work tomorrow… and in random containers for snacking on this week!

To close out this post, I’m pretty excited at the idea of knowing I’ll be posting every day.

See?! I said that out loud. Now I HAVE to!

9 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo : Day -1

  1. An indoor grill – what a cool idea. I wish you were packing me lunch too!

  2. OMG, that grill looks awesome! And those brussels sprouts do too ^_^

  3. Cara says:

    Na, no cheating. Over here in Europe MoFo already started 4 hours ago 😉

  4. kala says:

    That all looks really amazing, and now I want a grill like that too, curse you! 😀

  5. Yum! Grilling makes everything better! I can totally understand jumping the gun on MoFo. Much excitement ahead! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your future posts!

  6. Mands says:

    Yum, love the look of those sprouts!

  7. Betsy says:

    smoked paprika! If had written the lyrics to ‘These are a Few of my Favorite Things’ for The Sound of Music, smoked paprika would be in there along with the mittens and kitty whiskers and all. (don’t ask how, I’d make it rhyme!) I absolutely love smoked paprika, but never ever even considered skewering the brussels sprouts for grilling!! Thanks for a great seasonal idea! You crazy cook you!

  8. Let me see dem boots

Leave a Reply

