FUCK. APPLES. – Vegan MoFo Day 9

As the offensive title says, FUCK APPLES.

I love them, yes. I cherish apple season and look forward to it each and every years. But this year, my apple pile never seemed to shrink at all which left me panicked and wondering what to do with them. Let them rot and waste away? Make and can more apple things? Eat only apples for a week? GAHHHH!!!!

Yesterday was my day off so I took it upon myself to reign in the pile. The one thing I knew you could never have too much of is pie filling!! Fuck yeah, pie!!!

The one plus side in my mind to needing large amounts of apples peeled is that I get to use this awesome childrens science project looking apple peeler! I love it! It reminds me of the giant gear setup they have at The Strong Museum Of Play in Rochester NY. On a side note, if you ever get a chance to go there, do it. Bosslady and I once took all five children and it was a blast!

How could you not want to play with this!?

Soooo many apples. What the hell, man.

I truly wish there was something that could be made with apple peels. I had a pile of epic size when I was done.

I got a little camera happy with the apples.

So there was no need to take pictures of the canned filling. I already made a post about the last batch I made. Let’s just say I am now trying to find any excuse I can to put apple on things. Pancakes? SURE! Stir fry? Maybe not.

After the apples were done I realize I had missed lunch and was starving. I racked my brain trying to think of something quick and easy to throw together. Beefy Cheesy Mac came to mind.

The last time I made it, I was super excited but also super skeptical. There was SOUR CREAM in it.

White. Gooey. Gelatinous.

Same reason I’m not a fan of mayo’s. And what do you know?! I didn’t have sour cream and I didn’t feel like making it. I did, however, have a jar of Veganaise.

Scared doesn’t even begin to describe my anxiety about making this, but I went ahead and took the risk.

It might not be much to look at but it was definitely reminiscent of the Hamburger Helper of years past. I definitely couldn’t taste the Veganaise which was a shocking surprise.

 

Don’t forget to enter my Vegan Food Gifts Giveaway!

5 thoughts on “FUCK. APPLES. – Vegan MoFo Day 9

  1. OMG! I need one of those apple peelers. That would change my life.

  2. Leash says:

    You eat the peels B! The peels have all your nutrition!!! I can’t believe you took them all off!!!!!!!

  3. Heather says:

    I think you can make apple jam out of the peels and cores. I’ve never done it but there are a million recipes on google.

  4. Katie says:

    I use Veganaise at a snail’s pace so I often throw in a spoonful or two with pasta to make it a little creamy. You can also use it in corn bread to make it more moist!

    My father-in-law suggested frying the apple peels like they were potatoes, but I never actually did.

  5. Damn! I need to get me one of those contraptions.

Leave a Reply

