28

I’m now 28, going on 13.

I absolutely do NOT feel 28 and the idea of that number terrifies me. It wasn’t until this year that my age truly started getting to me.

In a few short months, I will no longer be employed with the family. Spencer will be in school full time come September and having me around just won’t make sense. I knew this day would come and the kids would “outgrow” me. I never lived in the idea that I’d be with Spencer forever…. (or maybe I did..), and turn 28 has made me realize I might now need to secure a REAL job. I won’t allow myself to take care of another family. After the closeness I’ve developed with these kids, there’s no way I could do it again.

Anyway…

I’m 28 years old.

For my birthday meal, my mother took Niki and I to Rochester for a lunch! Thanks to a coworker of my mother’s, we found ourselves at The Owl House.

We didn’t realize until we arrived and started placing our order that they ere only serving brunch. Brunch has its own different menu and of course, everything we had looked at and oogled over was part of their regular menu.

I was super stoked about what the menu said we’re vegan mozzarella sticks and when I placed the order, the girl said they had just run out. Come again?! I should have told her to get back there and make them from scratch because its my goddamn birthday! Surely that would have meant we would be on saliva watch with all of our food… Maybe it would have been worth it?
The waitress suggested that we try Ciggarello’s. Sure, why the hell not! Bitch already let me down once so could these honestly be any worse?!

20130315-214202.jpg

Ohmyfuckawhat.
See what I did there? I made up a long word. Weee!
They were amazing. Truly something created by the gods.
What I can only describe as a egg roll sort of wrapped shoved full of seitan, buffalo sauce and I believe a cheese sauce of something sort, then fried.
Fat vegan kids fucking dream!!!

And how could those glorious appetizers be topped, you ask?!

I present you with…

20130315-214315.jpg

BREAKFAST NACHOS!!

By this point, I think I told our waitress I loved her multiple times. She was rather beautiful…but that’s not the point! She brought me delicious food so my heart was hers!!

What sort of meal is complete (especially a birthday meal!) without someone so sickeningly sweet that I felt like I was in a sugar coma the entire ride home?!

Truffles.

Fucking.truffles.

20130315-214359.jpg

20130315-214410.jpg

Balls.
Best things I have ever had in my mouth.

After I basked in the glow of deliciousness, we went to Trader Joes where I carted home way too much Chorizo and Hummas.

The End.

One thought on “28

  1. May I please be the first to giggle about the fact you said balls were the best thing you’ve ever had in your mouth?

Leave a Reply

