Making Love, The Honeycrisp Way

image

image

image

image

image

First of all, I’ll start this by explaining the two pictures that are obviously not apples.
My best friend Jesse and i went on a fabric store/falafel date the other day. Falafel, yeah, nothing special right? Falafel is falafel is falafel. Well, there was something special about this falafel. It WAS paired with a big-ass basket of EGGPLANT FRIES.
Yeah, uh, never eating normal fries again.

As for the apples, i had a bushel of Honeycrisp and felt the need to go crazy with the yesterday. Honeycrisp Pancakes and Pie Filling!! The pancakes were somewhat of a challenge since I didn’t have a recipe and i didn’t know how the apples would cook up, if at all in the batter. Well, they cooked just enough to have a slight bite to them! And the pie filling? Amazing. The recipe I followed was from the Ball Canning Guide. Despite my better judgment, i added sugar like it called for. Definately not needed.
I ate four hand pies yesterday.
Four.
4.
No shame!

Does anyone have a favorite type of apple?
I’m curious to see what people say. I’m sort of a one type of apple kind of gal!

(recipes coming soon!)

7 thoughts on “Making Love, The Honeycrisp Way

  1. hmmmmm hand pies…..send me the recipe noellsky (at) gmail (dot) com I might forget and I have apples to use up! I am not a hater at all! You go. They must have been SUPER delicious! HAND PIES> I want. eggplant fries??? I still need to try those.

  2. Honeycrisp are my fav! I go on major buying sprees whenever they appear in the stores. Everyone in my house knows, clear out the fridge, it’s honeycrisp season!

Leave a comment